top of page
Search
  • cdaebig

To Change or not to Change? That is the question.

Recreating our education system is necessary. As I navigated through the videos of this section, the common theme being technology and its role in the education or learning of our students. Teachers are being reprimanded for making learning fun, and technology is being taken away from students. The old, fixed mindset must change. How exciting would it be to work in an organization who truly has a progressive growth mindset? I struggled as a student over two decades ago because I could not connect classes to my future. When I found a career-tech class that guided me towards my passion and lessons were connectable to my future, I found success and looked forward to class.


I always dreamed of a school system that would teach to careers making everything relevant. K-6 would be general education, but beyond that all your classes would be relevant to your interests. Imagine, if you wanted to be a construction worker having all your classes relevant to that. Construction related math, English, government, etc. I always felt that if you could tie the coursework to the passions of the students, success would be the result.


Play is essential in the educational process. Students who explore by “playing” or exploring concepts on their own or with peers will be engaged and have more buy in as they are literally in charge of their own learning. I’m not where I want to be in my classroom yet. I believe that I am a little more progressive than some in my building, but less than others. I do like to splash my room with the best of many different learnings and models that I have seen. I learn from sources located on the web, why shouldn’t my students follow suit? Find your interest and explore. Your interests may evolve along the way, but you will be better and more enriched because of your journey.


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page