top of page
Search
  • cdaebig

Strive for Progress not Perfection

When I said the last 2 classes were the toughest so far, classes 5318 & 5389 heard me and said hold my beer.. My spring break fell within these 8 weeks, and I had a goal of completing most of the coursework. My family went and enjoyed the break and I stayed home and worked like crazy. I was off for 10 days and spent over 120 hours doing the readings and working on videos, course design and PD development. I was very disappointed to fall short only completing a small amount of the assignments.

I did watch the videos embedded in both courses. I attended many of the class meetings and I

reviewed the tape of the ones I missed. I worked very hard, contributing all my free time to the classwork. Throughout this ADL program I have appreciated the consistency of Dr. Sue leading a class in each of the 8-week sessions. I have also appreciated the other class rotating instructors. I enjoy witnessing different teaching styles but long for a familiar face as well.

I did the pile of readings and met with my group multiple times throughout. As per the usual, Claudia, Anna, & Eboni all were probably more help to me than I was to them. I did make myself available and I answered all texts and email questions that were asked. I do appreciate my group; they did help to make the journey feel not so lonesome. I must improve in the team setting in the next rotation.

I struggled figuring out how to move forward often these past 8 weeks. I did learn from the coursework. I feel as though we are doing quite well in our building with several of the lessons that were covered in this class.

I have enjoyed developing my e-portfolio throughout these classes. I have been meeting with our building principal and our Instructional Facilitator every other week we visit the innovation proposal regularly and have been working on development of ideas moving forward. They have helped to guide me on this journey as well. Our meetings will continue throughout the entire implementation process.

Overall, I am satisfied with where I am at. I believe that I can always do better, and I love the opportunity to reflect. My confidence is growing each day. I will continue to grow and learn. Give up is not something I understand. I have a hard time judging solely on content, but I understand effort is difficult to judge.

I believe that my entire team deserves high marks 100%. They truly are amazing individuals who are doing a great job managing busy life schedules with college. I am usually my own harshest critic. I believe that effort is valued high. I have put ample, efforts into my learning and would score myself very high (93-98%). However, my collaborative efforts with my team could improve and I would score myself in the (80-85%) range. Averaging them out, I believe that my score should land around an 90%. I am looking forward to next schoolyear as I launch the plan that has been developed in this program. The students will achieve so much more!



8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page