top of page
Search
  • cdaebig

Contributions to my learning & learning communities – 5303 & 5313

Working through classes 5303 & 5313 was a bit better in some ways and more difficult in others when compared to 5305 & 5302. I did complete discussion posts in both classes. I could have done more in this area and will look to improve as I advance into the next two courses. My biggest struggle came as I misinterpreted the outcome-based assignment. I spent 12 hours on a project that was essentially garbage. This travelling in the wrong direction cost me more hours than I care to recount! Most of my work was done in the evening hours with a very large part done on the weekends.

I did watch the videos embedded in both courses. I attended all but one of the class meetings and I reviewed the tape of the one I missed. I worked very hard, contributing all my free time to the classwork. My shortcomings in the discussion posts were due to hours spent on class assignments as there are only so many hours in a day and I was already using more than I should have.

I did the readings and met with my group just about every Wednesday evening. I know that Claudia, Jessie, Anna, & Eboni all remain more of a help to me than I am to them. I did make myself available and I answered all texts and email questions that were asked. I do appreciate my group; they did help to make the journey feel not so lonesome. I must improve in the team setting in the next rotation. I was able to offer guidance and collaborate more this time around than I did in the last set of classes!

I was much more efficient moving forward through these past 8 weeks. I did learn from the coursework. I feel as though we are doing quite well in our building with several of the lessons that were covered in this class. I even discussed how we apply many of the concepts on my blog page. As I stated earlier, I worked on my Outcome-Based project for more hours than I can count. I do appreciate all of the support I got from Dr. H. throughout that traumatic experience!

I did a ton of developing of my e-portfolio and am looking forward to developing it even more throughout the next classes. I have been meeting with our building principal and our Instructional Facilitator every other week we visited growth mindset and have been working on development of ideas moving forward. They have helped to guide me on this journey as well. Our meetings will continue throughout the entire process and beyond.

Overall, I am satisfied with where I am at. I believe that I can always do better, and I love the opportunity to reflect. I’m a little gun shy as sometimes I feel like I am hitting a home run and get called out on a pop fly behind the plate! Rest assured, I will continue to grow and learn. Give up is not something I understand. I have a hard time judging solely on content, but I understand effort is difficult to judge.

I believe that my entire team deserves high marks 100%. They truly are amazing individuals who are doing a great job managing busy life schedules with college. I also appreciate the flexibility of our instructors. As for me, I am usually my own harshest critic. I believe that effort is valued high. I have put ample, almost excessive, efforts into my learning and would score myself very high (93-98%). However, my collaborative efforts with my team could improve and I would score myself in the (85-90%) range. Averaging them out, I believe that my score should land around an 92%. Thank you for all you have done to help me through this journey.



12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page